Under Wisconsin law, all burglary charges are felony offenses. Theft can be charged either a felony or misdemeanor, depending on the value of the goods stolen.
Burglary involves the intentional entering of a building, dwelling, vessel, vehicle, or other structure without the consent of the owner, and with the intention of stealing or committing a felony. Individuals convicted of burglary in Wisconsin can spend up to 12 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.
You may also be charged with being in possession of burglary tools, including any instrument or device designed to break into a building, room, or container. Individuals convicted of this charge in Wisconsin can spend 3 years, 6 months in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Theft charges are more complicated and can vary based on the defendant’s intentions, the materials or objects taken, or the value of the materials or objects taken. Theft involving loss of less than $25,000 is a misdemeanor that comes with a maximum penalty of 9 months in jail and a $10,000 fine. Meanwhile, theft involving more than $10,000 is a felony punishable by 10 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.
Regardless of the charge, it is important to hire skilled legal representation immediately, so they may begin working on your behalf immediately.
Call Attorney David A. Danz today at 262-723-7720.
For toll-free, call 866-291-5068.
This website is for informational purposes only. Using this site or communicating with Danz Law Office through this site does not form an attorney/client relationship. This site is legal advertising.
Copyright © 2018 LawLawyerTemplate - All Rights Reserved.